LibGuides: Social Sciences Research Guide: Psychology

Search Tips for PSYCHOLOGY

When searching the database think about the different keywords and vocabulary associated with your topic and try MULTIPLE searches and databases
Keep your searches SIMPLE to start; the MORE search terms in your search the FEWER results you'll get
Use PHRASE searching when searching for multi-word terms to improve your results. This involves putting your search words in quotation marks when you search so the database searches for the terms together as a phrase. EXAMPLES:
- "post-traumatic stress"
- "adolescent development"
- "Maslow’s hierarchy"
LIMIT your results to specific time periods and dates using the FILTERS, LIMITERS, and ADVANCED SEARCH features

Find Articles & Books in the Pathways College Library Databases

Access to Academic Search Elite and Ebook Central require special log-ins. Check your student email for your username and password, or contact the librarian if you can't find it.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central has been integrated into ProQuest Ressearch Library for a more seamless search experience! More than 130,000 scholarly books that are easy to access online and in full text. Browse by subjects – literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology – or use the search box.
GoogleScholar This link opens in a new window
A collection of international scholarly literature from across disciplines, many available in full-text but not exclusively.

Free Online Psychology Journals

The following is a selection of psychology journals that can be accessed freely online, no log-in required.

Abnormal and Behavioural Psychology - Peer reviewed medical journal that makes significant contributions to the major areas of psychology & well-being.
Addictive Behaviors - International peer-reviewed journal publishing high quality human research on addictive behaviors and disorders since 1975.
Current Psychology Letters - Publishes short papers reporting original findings that warrant rapid communication to the scientific community.
Journal of Child and Adolescent Behavior - Provides an overview of the epigenetic, hormonal and neurological developments that takes place during Child and Adolescence.
Journal of Depression and Anxiety - Open Access journal that aims to publish the most complete and reliable source of information on the discoveries and current developments in the areas of depression, anxiety, and their treatment.
Journal of Psychology & Psychotherapy - A source for the latest findings in cognitive, behavioral, developmental, health and educational psychology.
Journal of Traumatic Stress Disorders & Treatment - A peer-reviewed scholarly journal that aims to publish the most complete and reliable source of information on the discoveries and current developments in all areas pertaining to traumatic stress
International Journal of School and Cognitive Psychology - Examines the field of educational psychology including the effectiveness of educational interventions, the psychology of teaching, and the social psychology of schools as organizations, as well as the coverage of developmental psychology including cognitive and emotional development.
Learning & Memory - Provides a forum for investigations into issues in the form of research papers and review articles.

Web Resources

American Psychological Association
Based in Washington, DC, the APA is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
American Psychiatric Association
The American Psychiatric Association is a medical specialty society with over 38,000 member physicians working to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders.
Association for Psychological Science
Founded in 1988, the Association for Psychological Science (previously the American Psychological Society) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level.
Cognitive Science Society
The Cognitive Science Society brings together researchers from many fields, including cognitive science, artificial intelligence, linguistics, anthropology, psychology, neuroscience, philosophy, and education, who seek to understand the nature of the human mind.
Internet Resources in Psychology and Related Disciplines
This is a very helpful page with links arranged by topic. Maintained by the staff of the Psychology Library at Princeton University.
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of the NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery and cure. Check out their Science News section.
Social Psychology Network
Founded by Dr. Scott Plous in 1996, the Social Psychology Network seeks to promote peace, social justice, and sustainable living through public education, research, and the advancement of psychology.