LibGuides: Political Science & History Research Guide: Find Articles & Books

Find Books & Articles: Pathways Databases

When searching the database think about the different keywords and vocabulary associated with your topic and try MULTIPLE searches and databases
Keep your searches SIMPLE to start; the MORE search terms in your search the FEWER results you'll get
Use PHRASE searching when searching for multi-word terms to improve your results. This involves putting your search words in quotation marks when you search so the database searches for the terms together as a phrase. EXAMPLES:
- "federalist papers"
- "supreme court"
- "bill of rights"
LIMIT your results to specific time periods and dates using the FILTERS, LIMITERS, and ADVANCED SEARCH features

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central has been integrated into ProQuest Ressearch Library for a more seamless search experience! More than 130,000 scholarly books that are easy to access online and in full text. Browse by subjects – literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology – or use the search box.
GoogleScholar This link opens in a new window
A collection of international scholarly literature from across disciplines, many available in full-text but not exclusively.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals contains 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Check your student email for your username and password, or contact the librarian if you can't find it.